Intervju med Michael Bastian

Publicerad 2010-08-11 16:32:54 i IB Intervju,

I samband med starten på tävlingen tillsammans med Ganty by Michael Bastian fick jag möjligheten att dra iväg ett par frågor till Michael Bastian himself. Ett härligt inslag i Industribolaget Intervju och resultatet ser ni nedan.




My idea behind the blog, Industribolaget, was to tell the stories behind my favorite shirts, jeans, jackets and accessories. I believe that we all have one or two garments that we care about a little bit extra and we do that for a reason. It can be a trip, a meeting, a feeling or a party and it is that reason that I'm looking for. Do you have a favorite piece in your wardrobe at home and why is it your favortie?

Without a doubt, my favorite special piece of clothing is a navy blue cashmere crewneck sweater from one of my first collections. A big reason I started my line was to make the things I could never find for myself when I was men's fashion director for Bergdorf Goodman, and the main thing I could never find was this perfect, simple sweater. It's the piece I wear the most, and probably the one thing I would grab if woke up and my apartment was on fire.

After your latest visit in Sweden, what would you say is the main difference between the way American men dress compared to us Swedes?

I have to say-- there isn't really a big difference between how Swedish and American guys dress!  Of all the European countries i've been to, Swedish men seem to value the same things American guys do when it comes to their clothes-- comfort, function, discreet luxury, and an appreciation for personal style over designer flash. If I had to pick one thing though, maybe Swedish men are more comfortable with slimmer pants than their American counterparts-- but that makes sense-- you're the home of the skinny jean.


I'm planning to go to New York this fall and I'm always looking for new bars to visit. Can you give me a tip?


I'm definitely the wrong guy to ask this question-- I travel so much that when I'm in New York, the biggest luxury to me is having friends over to my place for drinks. I obsess about lighting, music, how much ice is in the drinks-- so it's just easier to invite friends over.  There's just something nice about having the people you love over to your space and just having a nice long talk over a couple drinks.

Do you have a person, a special place, a book or anything else that you turn to for inspiration when you need it? If so, can you tell me a little bit about it?

When I need inspiration, I tend to just go for long walks around my neighborhood in the West Village. The street I live on is surrounded by 3 schools, and the best inspiration seems to come from these students-- even the little kids. My favorite is when I'm on the street early in the morning and parents are walking their little kids to the grade school at the end of my block. These cool New York parents obviously let their kids pick out their own clothes, and that's the best. No one is more creative than a little New York 1st grader.

What's the one accessory that you never leave home without?

The one thing I never leave home with is my lucky penny-- It's carefully wrapped in paper (so i don't accidently spend it) and tucked into my wallet. I really believe in lucky talismans like this.

Previously I asked my readers to write about what American Sportswear mean to them. What does American Sportswear mean to you?

The key to American sportswear (to me) is that it has to look like you didn't think about it too much-- even if you did. Everything needs to feel spontaneous and friendly and approachable. There is so much negative garbage in fashion that seems to have more to do with intimidation or flashing money, and this to me is the biggest turn-off. Your clothes should make you feel good about yourself when you leave your apartment in the morning, not make others feel bad about themselves or their choices--- if you know what I mean.

Kommentarer

Postat av: Patric

Publicerad 2010-08-19 14:04:07

Tummen upp måste du få! kul det där med hans accesoar!

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

[email protected]

Jag heter Samuel Garlöv. På kvällar och helger leker jag med den här högst personliga bloggen. Industribolaget är en blogg om allt jag tycker är extra kul i livet som mode, matlagning, cocktails, resor, hotell, böcker och magasin. Den är min hobby. Om du har några frågor eller funderingar så är du varmt välkommen att mejla [email protected]

Till bloggens startsida

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela